Rate of O/A usage when cutting/welding?

/ Rate of O/A usage when cutting/welding? #1  

Gale Hawkins

Tractor
1948 Allis Chambers Model B 1976 265 MF / 1983 JD 310B Backhoe / 1966 Ford 3000 Diesel / 1980 3600 Diesel
Tonight I purchased a set of O/A gauges and a torch. I did a little brazing in shop forty years ago so I have no experience.

I have 20/10 O/A tanks and a tote coming for a portable set up that I can pack anywhere. If cutting only with these will it be good for 15 minutes, 1 hour, etc? What if welding/heating only?

To stay around 50 pounds per tank I am looking at 80 cf for O and 75 cf for A. I was thinking 40 cf for acetylene then noticed the fill price was on $4 more for 35 cf more so it will be good to not have to haul the acetylene tank back exept every other time perhaps.

Is there a rule of thumb for O and A cf usage for each type of torch usage?

Thanks

/ Rate of O/A usage when cutting/welding? #2  
For Cutting, Basicly you can get away with 20# O2 and 8# Acet. Adjust up or down depending on thickness. Also be sure to use the correct tip size for the job. This can add or cost you gas. You can go on the Victor Website and download tip and pressure charts for the fuel gas you want to use.
Good Luck..

/ Rate of O/A usage when cutting/welding?
Thanks for the tip on the Victor site and I will go there. I bought it in part due to the guy reviewing the HF set and that Victor's tips fit it.

I have a lot to learn but did pick up Hayes Techbook on welding at HF yesterday and it is great for someone at my level. Gas welding/cutting set can cover more shop needs to some degree more than any of the other tools on the market today.

/ Rate of O/A usage when cutting/welding? #4  
If needed, I can send you a Victor Hand Book on Cutting, Welding and Safety. Ijust need an address. You need to buy Flash Arrestors if the After market set does not have them. ( Victor has them Built in.):thumbsup:

/ Rate of O/A usage when cutting/welding? #5