question on going from conventional oil to synthetic on smaller engines

/ question on going from conventional oil to synthetic on smaller engines #1  

tstex

Gold Member
Tractor
1997 Kubota M5400S
Hello to All,

In my F-150, I use a full synthetic 5W30 by Quaker State...it's the second best synthetic w the second lowest NOACK rating just behind Pennzoil's top of line.

In my push lawnmower [2011), riding lawnmower [2005] both B&S, and my JD Gator [Kawasaki] I use Pennzoil conventional based on the spec's of the engine. Although Ford says change every 10,000 miles, I always do btw 4-5K. What do you guys think about me switching all of my smaller engines to the QS 5W40 synthetic? I am a weekend farmer/rancher at best, sometimes on making it 2-3 times a month to the ranch. so there's only moderate usage and only spurts of heavy usage. The Kubota M5400S w shredder tackles the big cutting jobs and the Gator is a 1998 that still looks pretty good except when the girls cut a turn too short by a tree..tree wins every time.

Summer temps get hot mid high 90's; winters are never consistently cold, so temps do not fluctuate too much. I have just read so many times that synthetic is just so much better and lasts a lot longer than conventional...the goal is to give the engines a boost in their quest for longevity.

Thank you,
tstex

Last edited:
   / question on going from conventional oil to synthetic on smaller engines #2  
It wont hurt to do that but its been taught forever not to go from synthetic to conventional oil

/ question on going from conventional oil to synthetic on smaller engines #3  
Isn't 5W40 kind of thin for mower engines?

/ question on going from conventional oil to synthetic on smaller engines #5  
The "5" is the thin. The "40" is the thick.
10w30 or maybe 20w40.

/ question on going from conventional oil to synthetic on smaller engines #6  
Hello to All,