Problem-036 Stihl.

/ Problem-036 Stihl. #1  

Red Horse

Veteran Member
Tractor
Deere 655ZTrak, Deere 4720 Cab, 400 X LT 155
Well I started my 036 Stihl, locked the clutch and left it running while I picked up a log with the grapple. Before I could get out of the deere, I noticed white smoke coming from the saw-like around the drive sprocket. Byn the time I got to it it had stalled-fired a bit but would not run and then it seems the starter locked up. I bought this saw 20 years ago- 600 bucks then!- and hate to think its something other than clutch. I would bet in twenty years it has averaged no more than 2 or 3 cords a year.

Any thoughts? What is the corresponding stihl todau to an 036?

/ Problem-036 Stihl. #2  
MS361 I believe.. Your 036 issue doesn't sound good but I'm no expert.. I use to go to Bolton orchards all the time when I lived in MA, did you buy your tractor at Padula?

/ Problem-036 Stihl.
MS361 I believe.. Your 036 issue doesn't sound good but I'm no expert..

Thx-and I'm no expert either but I'm hoping its the clutch

/ Problem-036 Stihl. #4  
MS362 would be its replacement today.

I'd pull the clutch drum and see what things look like. Also look at the clutch drum bearing.

/ Problem-036 Stihl.
MS362 would be its replacement today.

I'd pull the clutch drum and see what things look like. Also look at the clutch drum bearing.

Did that-clutch was fine-but drive gear that I believe powers the chain oiler- ???- looks like it siezed-figured I'd be going back sand forth to dealer so put everything in a box and took it to Stihl dealer!

Stay tuned.

/ Problem-036 Stihl.
MS361 I believe.. Your 036 issue doesn't sound good but I'm no expert.. I use to go to Bolton orchards all the time when I lived in MA, did you buy your tractor at Padula?

I live right across street from Bolton Orchards big orchard-must be close to a sq. mile! Bought a new 3720 from Padulas but the 4720 was a "score" on craigs- 205 hours! I'll never have such good luck again.