Power-trac 418 vs. Yanmar 1500D w/FEL?

/ Power-trac 418 vs. Yanmar 1500D w/FEL? #1  

davesisk

Platinum Member
Tractor
Massey-Ferguson MF 1220
Hi folks! I originally posted this on the Yanmar group (without realizing there was a Power-trac discussion here), and someone suggested I check out this discussion and/or repost here. Original post below.

I'm a relative newbie to tractors in general (although I've done quite a bit of research and messageboard reading). I've got a small yard to do a lot of work in, so this Power-trac sounds ideal. If any of you own both and can post some advantages/disadvantages, I'd really, really appreciate it!

I gather from some of the reading on this group so far that the Power-trac (even the small 418) is about as powerful as a Toro Dingo, and probably comparable to a Yanmar 1500D or 1300D w/FEL, but much cheaper used. Again, any thoughts or advice appreciated.

One more quick question: I'll really need the trencher attachment. How's the availability of used trenchers for a 1990 418 (the 3-pin attachment method rather than the current quick-attach method)?

First project: a 400 sq ft patio on unlevel ground using pavers and retaining wall blocks (ie. lots of digging involved).

Best regards,
Dave

---Original post below:

Hi folks!

I've been looking for awhile for a Yanmar 1500D with a front loader or an equivalent compact tractor local to me (within say, 50-100 miles or so).

I've found a Power-trac 418 that someone is selling locally. This is a small articulated tractor with built-in hydraulics, 4 wheel hydrostatic drive. All attachments hook to the front (like a Toro Dingo). The guy selling has the bucket attachment, a stump grinder attachment, and a power auger attachment. It has an 18 hp Briggs engine that's 2 years old. It's almost like a Toro Dingo skid steer that you sit on, except it's articulated and won't tear up the lawn like a skid steer will.