Power sharp auto sharpening chain system. 6yrs old... anyone using it?

/ Power sharp auto sharpening chain system. 6yrs old... anyone using it? #1  

Dadnatron

Veteran Member
Tractor
JD 5100e with FEL
I was out working today, and cutting some stumps flush to ground height. Well, as would be obvious, I was in dirt a bit and my chain needed sharpening quite a bit. I can do it, but I found that I am NOT good at it, or at least ç´*ast at it. I spent quite a bit of time on each sharpening. And there was no option given my goal.

But, as I was sharpening (hand file system) I kept thinking there is likely a faster way. I have seen many options... all equally best/worst ever, depending on who is doing the review.

Basically, my needs are general farm use. Nothing �roduction and mostly it is purely cleanup etc. but when I need it, I want it working well. Given my technique is novice at best, and While I want to be safe, I have no desire to EVER cut so much as to become proficient and/or skilled. I want to safely and quickly cut whatever I am working on, and perhaps not picking up the saw again for another 2 months.

In that vein, I was thinking about the PowerSharp automatic chain sharpening system, and saw that there were a couple threads from 2011. So I was wondering whether anyone was still using it or has any thoughts? I知 willing to 層aste chain if I don稚 have to spend so much time sharpening each time I need.

And FINALLY, I can’t determine for certain whether there is a bar/chain available for a Stihl MS 251C-BE? The ‘selector tool’ doesn’t show one for it, but I not sure why that would be. 18” bar

/ Power sharp auto sharpening chain system. 6yrs old... anyone using it? #2  
They don't seem to list 18" bars. If it's a small Stihl mount like the 025/023 then you should be able to find a 16". Might take some sleuthing.