pole barn height?

/ pole barn height? #1  

NoTrespassing

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota 1999 L3710 HST FWA
Hi folks,

I'm just getting started designing a storage shed. I'm going with pole barn construction. It will be either 24 x 60 or 30 x 60. I need to do some measuring before I decide. The longest thing I will park in it will be my L3710 Kubota with the loader and 6' rotary cutter on it. The tallest thing I would put in it is our stock trailer that is slightly less than 8' tall I think.

Unfortunately, the way I'm going to have to build it, the doors (3 of them) will be on the long side of the building. I have no choice in that matter and I realize the headers will be taking all the roof load. I will deal with that.

My first of many questions is, how tall should I make the long walls and how tall should the overhead doors be? What should I consider when making this decision?

I've got some building experience having put up a small horse shed and a 16 x 24 pole barn but this will be much more than I have taken on.

Thanks for any response,
Kevin

/ pole barn height? #2  
I would say if you think you'll need 8.ft, chances are that will turn into 10 ft. Also, the length of a stock trailer, only until you get that 5th wheel that you don't think you need right now. make sure that you leave enough room above the header for the door hardware or roll up mechanism. Gary.

/ pole barn height? #3  
I'll stick my neck out and estimate you will need to have 2' headers over the doors so you can figure what door height you want (I would go with 9' height) and then calculate the ceiling height (or 11' to accomodate the 9' door height).

Go to some pole building plan sites or University Ag building sites and you should find some plans to help you make these decisions.

Depth of the headers to carry the load of the roof weight will be the controlling factor, IMO.

/ pole barn height? #4  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( It will be either 24 x 60 or 30 x 60. )</font>