Pintle hitch (GenY Hitch)

/ Pintle hitch (GenY Hitch) #1  

Dadnatron

Veteran Member
Tractor
JD 5100e with FEL
I was looking for a weight distributing hitch, and saw this hitch which would fit the bill nicely. However, I am confused about its use as a Pintle Hitch. I have never used a Pintle before, but have read about them. My understanding is their benefit is mainly that they are much more 'heavy duty' hitches, given they don't rely on a ball. However this hitch DOES rely on a ball, just in a bit different manner, when it is in 'Pintle mode'.

What do you guys think about this hitch and would it be 'good enough' to use for a pintle connection, should that need ever arise for me?

They make a Class IV (10,000lb) and Class V (16,000 or 20,000lb) version. I'm going to be using it on a 2006 F-350 Dually Crew 4x4.

Genyhitch.JPG

/ Pintle hitch (GenY Hitch) #2  
Looks like it would work just fine. There are several pintle set ups that use a ball and then have the locking part swing down on the ball. Do you have a pintle trailer? If not yet and no real reason for one I would stick to GN trailers.

brett

/ Pintle hitch (GenY Hitch)
I don't have a pintle trailer, at the moment.

What made me think about it was a Government Liquidation generator on a trailer. The trailer had a pintle hitch, and I began thinking that if I wanted to bid on it, I'd have to have a way to get it home. I do want a bumper pull hitch though. I have the receiver already, but I know that there are going to be times when a GN trailer isn't what is available.

I've been looking at used dump trailers. GN used trailers are almost non-existent whereas bumper pulls are a dime a dozen. I'd rather have the GN... but a used BP would be fine for the right price.

/ Pintle hitch (GenY Hitch) #4  
I don't have a pintle trailer, at the moment.