Buying Advice Out of State Sales Tax Confusion

/ Out of State Sales Tax Confusion #1  

Johnkn

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota LX3310
I'm ready to purchase another new tractor from a dealer in PA, I live 150 miles away in MD. We are relatively close on pricing, but I'm now told that if I pick the tractor up there (which I'm ready to do) , I have to pay PA sales tax (even through I'm a MD resident). They further state that If they deliver it to me (~$800) then I have to pay MD sales tax. Does that sound right? has something changed recently?

If I pick the tractor up in PA and pay their sales tax, I may also be liable for my own state's tax when reporting my 2020 Fed/state taxes and effectively pay 2x the sales tax.

I've purchased many vehicles, tractors, etc. out of state, and worst case on a 'registered/tagged' vehicle they collect MD sales tax and remit on my behalf to my state. Best case, on an item that is not 'registered', they collect zero tax.

??

thanks

Last edited:
   / Out of State Sales Tax Confusion #2  
Yes, you have to pay sales tax. It's the law.

Now, paying it twice, that doesn't sound right.

/ Out of State Sales Tax Confusion #3  
Sales and Use Tax Information

Scroll down to "Frequently asked questions about sales and use tax", then, "Out-of-state purchase FAQ's", then, "What if I pay sales tax to another state?

It reads:

What if I pay sales tax to another state?

Maryland grants a credit for sales tax paid to another state up to the amount of Maryland's six (6%) percent sales and use tax liability.

For example, if you paid a four (4%) percent sales tax to another state, you would be liable only for the difference, or two (2%) percent Maryland sales and use tax when you brought the property into Maryland. If you paid a six (6) or higher percent sales tax to another state, you would not be liable for Maryland sales and use tax when you brought the property into Maryland.