One or many... multiprocess vs Mig with separate Tig/Stick down the road

/ One or many... multiprocess vs Mig with separate Tig/Stick down the road #1  

Dadnatron

Veteran Member
Tractor
JD 5100e with FEL
I've read so many different threads I can't see straight. I'm ready to pull the trigger, but just when I'm about to do it, some more information seeps in and messes with the equation.

I have need for a welder, likely Mig. Grew up with a stick Tombstone but haven't touched one in about 30yrs.

AT this point, it is mainly farm work, so I was thinking Mig/Fluxcore for outside. However, I'd like the option for fabrication and eventually, I can see myself using Tig for some aluminum and thin material ideas I have. This is NOT my main priority at this point however.

Things I NEED...

- 110/220V input
- Straight forward controls. (I really like the way Lincoln 210 interface works, but the Miller 211 is also nice.) Given I'm not an expert, I'd go with idiot controls with minimal fine tuning by me, at least at this point.)
- Usability... It needs to be VERY straightforward. I'm not an idiot, but I also have no desire to be futzing around for an hour just to get things lined up and ready to go.
- Relative portability. I want to be able to put it in the pickup bed along with a generator, and go to the pasture, if needed.
- In accordance with the portability, I need a machine that can stand up to being moved around in such a manner. It isn't going to be a daily, even 6 monthly occurrence, but I don't want something fragile.
- If I get a Multiprocess, I want Tig - HF start along with AC ability. I don't want to spend all my time trying to 'learn' a harder technique simply because others can do it just fine. I am after results, not about learning from the ground up. I want the easiest process to get where I want to be. (Shoot this thinking down if I am off... I've never Tig Welded, so I understand my thinking could be 'off'.)

Things I'd LIKE...