Never heard of it.

/ Never heard of it. #1  

PitbullMidwest

Platinum Member
Tractor
1998 Kubota L2900GST
I started brush cutting this past weekend and with about 10 minutes left to cut I broke a shear pin. :(

No problem, run to Farm King and get another one, right? Wrong. To my amazement not a single employee knew what a shear pin was. "Never heard of it" was a popular response. I'm not talking about teenagers working part time, these guys have worked there for years. When I explained that the pin went in a PTO shaft and what it was for, they recommended that I go to a machine shop that specializes in drive shaft repair. Unbelievable.

I ended up sticking a bolt in it just so I could finish up but I know the grade is too hard to keep using.

So, where can I get shear pins or what grade bolt could be substituted?

/ Never heard of it. #2  
Take this for what it's worth as I'm no bolt expert, but the last time I broke a shear bolt on my tiller and couldn't get another one until the next day, I was told by the parts guy at a tractor dealership that I could use a Grade 8 bolt in a pinch.

When I said "what?!", he said the grade 8 has an extremely high tensile strength, but a lower shear strength than the grade 5 bolts, so would be safer in a pinch.

/ Never heard of it. #3