Seeders Most Versatile Seeder for a 35 HP 4wd tractor

/ Most Versatile Seeder for a 35 HP 4wd tractor #1  

EdwardB

Silver Member
Tractor
JD 4410
What would you recommend to buy to plant a wide variety of seeds, everything from grass to cover crops to larger seeds such as beans; and in a variety of conditions (no-till, partial till & full till). Any suggestions or helpful tips are welcome since I have never used one before.

/ Most Versatile Seeder for a 35 HP 4wd tractor
Anyone? Anyone at all?

/ Most Versatile Seeder for a 35 HP 4wd tractor #3  
A seed drill is used for no till. It punches through minor crop residue. One pass and done. Heavy, expensive, new.

Broadcast spreaders, operating off the PTO, are good for medium and small seeds. Soil needs to be well prepared, then rolled after seeding.

What are you trying to do?

What is your equipment budget?

What field equipment do you own now?

How much land do you want to seed?

A seed drill is used for no till. It punches through minor crop residue. One pass and done. Heavy, expensive, new.

Broadcast spreaders, operating off the PTO, are good for medium and small seeds. Soil needs to be well prepared, then rolled after seeding.

What are you trying to do?

What is your equipment budget?

What field equipment do you own now?

How much land do you want to seed?

I recently acquired an 80 acre parcel that half about 55-60 acres of old orchard land. The soil is sandy loam. The front field is somewhat hilly with grass and weeds and some brambles and small bushes on it; I am in the process of removing them. My soil samples indicate low organic material so I thought I would work in the existing vegetation and then seed a cover crop. The issue with the front field is that it has row ridges and holes\dips from the previous orchard planting and tree removal. I'll have to deal with those before planting. The front field will likely be put into some type of orchard and\or vineyard down the road.