Mini X hammer hydraulic question

/ Mini X hammer hydraulic question #1  

chopped

Veteran Member
I just got an old (real old) Mini and it is plumbed for a ''hammer'' there is one lever to engage it.
So my question is am i right in thinking that it just proves flow to and from in one direction and would need an additional valve and lever of some sort o use it for a thumb?
Slso im not sure if my idea is right then when i engage it shouldnt it 'dead head' as there is nothing connected to the quick couplers?
Thanks for any info on this

/ Mini X hammer hydraulic question #2  
I'm no expert in hydraulics, but does this lever go "both ways" as in forward/neutral/reverse, or just goes forward.

/ Mini X hammer hydraulic question
Glad you asked that,I just looked and moved it. there is three positions on that lever,.
The machine is an antique. Takeuchi TB35S
If you can imagine, the manual I have is original and is typed with a typewriter and very basic.
Also I found that one of the boom handle has a switch button hooked on it but the wire only go down the shaft and are cut off. Not sure what that switch would operate.
here is a video of the machine(not mine)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sb0b_dMlKF4
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oJq2SoMxGc

The first one is plumbed like mine but the second one isnt.Guess that was an option.

Thanks hope you can help me. I might get a fixed thumb but Id feel bad if I did that only to find I could have done a hydraulic one.
Once I get it running again I guess I could start it and see what does what.

Glad you asked that,I just looked and moved it. there is three positions on that lever,.
The machine is an antique. Takeuchi TB35S
If you can imagine, the manual I have is original and is typed with a typewriter and very basic.
Also I found that one of the boom handle has a switch button hooked on it but the wire only go down the shaft and are cut off. Not sure what that switch would operate.
here is a video of the machine(not mine)