MIG Welder for Beginner/Light Use

/ MIG Welder for Beginner/Light Use #111  
if welding in 110-go cheap. Why because 110v will be a light duty cycle mig anyway. Get one that will weld both flux core wire and gas. Practice a bit using flux core wire then go to gas-you will see a huge difference in your welds-properly set with gas sounds like cooking bacon :)

I gave my Harbor Freight away to my nephew so he could practice to be a professional at home, that was 4 years ago and now he works for a company building destroyers for the navy.

Thats all you need for now....then once you get the hang of it-upgrade to something better.

I was a professional welder before I became a Microsoft Windows Engineer. Built everything from oversized logging trailers and trailer truck headboards to fuel or oil tanks and 5x8 trailers.
From the first spark I heard bacon frying. I played with the amps (my only choice of setting for some reason (synergeric) and I got different effects from different amperage of course. 100, 75 (best on my small scrap) then 50 (no good). Quite thin metal.

/ MIG Welder for Beginner/Light Use #112  
Make sure you have good ground too. Sometimes with thin metal you have to spot weld a little at a time. I made alot of thin metal tanks that way.

/ MIG Welder for Beginner/Light Use #113  
I mentioned earlier that I was a licensed mechanic from 1987 to 2005 and I had to learn to weld to get my license.
I have a 40+ yr old flux core mig in the basement right now that never worked right - and the last time I needed to use that was around 2004.
So I do see a need coming up for a couple small projects, but nothing beyond that in the plans, so a very inexpensive ("cheap" implies poor quality)
suits me for my need of a couple times per decade.