Massey 135 is my Valentine

/ Massey 135 is my Valentine #1  

Fergie Bach

Hi Folks,
I am a newbie.
Just acquired the above tractor(1969). Somebody else loved it once but then some idiot used it for pulling boats out of the sea. A heresy! Still it could be in worse condition and I have a mind to make it nice as a partner for my 1953 TE20. Advice appreiated, perhaps from someone as knowledgeable as "farming with junk" on these matters. A man after my own heart!!
Tractor has 8000 hours but runs well with good oil pressure. Transmission is excellent and the old girl has seen a greasing or 2 in her time.In fact I'm delighted except that I know that this Perkins engine should fire up cold pretty much on the button and it doesn't- Needs heat and a few turns.Battery is good.
Once away all well. Runs without excessive smoke,Breathes a little but I've seen worse. Steady and even through the range. Sounds well. Tips for improving her cold starting is what I need.
I will never use ether!
Valve clearances are on the immeadiate agenda.
A good run with automotive diesel perhaps. Other suggestions gratefully accepted.

/ Massey 135 is my Valentine #2  
Hi Folks,
I am a newbie.
Just acquired the above tractor(1969). Somebody else loved it once but then some idiot used it for pulling boats out of the sea. A heresy! Still it could be in worse condition and I have a mind to make it nice as a partner for my 1953 TE20. Advice appreiated, perhaps from someone as knowledgeable as "farming with junk" on these matters. A man after my own heart!!
Tractor has 8000 hours but runs well with good oil pressure. Transmission is excellent and the old girl has seen a greasing or 2 in her time.In fact I'm delighted except that I know that this Perkins engine should fire up cold pretty much on the button and it doesn't- Needs heat and a few turns.Battery is good.