Makita 10" Slide Dual Compound Miter Saw

/ Makita 10" Slide Dual Compound Miter Saw #1  

NoTrespassing

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota 1999 L3710 HST FWA
Makita 10\" Slide Dual Compound Miter Saw

Ok, I'm just about to buy the Makita 10" Slider. It's got a 13amp motor and looks like a very nice saw. Price comes to $425 or so after rebate.

It's probably more saw than I really need but I've been using nothing but a 20yr old B&D 7 1/4" circular saw for the last 15 yrs. and it's time for an upgrade. I'll use the circular saw for ripping. The new saw will probably be used a few times per year and I expect it to last me the rest of my life at that rate.

I've read a lot of good reviews on it. I'm lookin for somebody that has used one or owns one to give me their opinion on it.

Thanks
Kevin

/ Makita 10" Slide Dual Compound Miter Saw #2  
Re: Makita 10\" Slide Dual Compound Miter Saw

Kevin,
You don't happen to know the model #.I was a Makita factory service tech for 15 years but some of the models were different in the US

/ Makita 10" Slide Dual Compound Miter Saw

I believe it's LS1013.

/ Makita 10" Slide Dual Compound Miter Saw #4  

You might consider going to Home Depot and looking over the 12" Rigid compound sliding miter saw. I saw one not long ago and after seeing how easy it is to move on the folding stand, I wish that I hadn't purchased the DeWalt 12" saw. The Rigid is a one man operation from set up to take down and rolls on its own built in wheels. Slicker than two pigs in mud. I don't know what they cost, but it is definitely a good unit. They are made of some plastic, but it is definitely a heavy duty product. The 12" is much better than the 10" from what I have been told...

/ Makita 10" Slide Dual Compound Miter Saw #5  

I have the same saw.
Sold my Craftsman Radial Arm Saw and bought the Makita.
Last year I bought a folding Home Depot, Rigid saw stand.
Makes a great portable saw.

/ Makita 10" Slide Dual Compound Miter Saw #6