Mahindra 3016 Working Ability?

/ Mahindra 3016 Working Ability? #1  

kantuckid

Platinum Member
Tractor
Branson 4820R
I'm looking at 1533, 1538 and 3016 shuttle tractors w/FEL. I've looked at many, many videos of 3016 tractors working.
My real question is just how that model will handle large logs common on our place?
I've been using a 4WD Kioti DK40 for ~ 12 years which does the job but given the terrain here in E KY I'm raising the question before I buy my next tractor. I'm well aware of the admonition to buy larger if you need it but have found a nice 3016 I like.
3016 owners----Please share your 3016 pictures or comments. Thanks!

/ Mahindra 3016 Working Ability? #2  
When you say "large logs", you need to specify the size and species. Some folks think 12" diameter logs that are six feet long are "large". I move "not large" logs that weigh over 1,000 lbs.
Look here to get a good idea of what your logs may weigh, then you'll have an idea for tractor size: Log Weight Calculator at WOODWEB
Note that you can skid (drag) larger logs than you can carry.

/ Mahindra 3016 Working Ability?
Thanks for the instructional. I'm 73 and a life long woodworker. I don't just work in the woods, I make stuff. I carve, turn and cabinet work, so on. I like to think I'm a pretty good chair maker- my "style" is Appalachian , hickory bark bottom/back chairs.