3-Point Hitch Long 460 Lower Link Bars bending

/ Long 460 Lower Link Bars bending #1  

wthforever

Tractor
Long
Does anyone have information on why my lower link bars continue to bend (and eventually break). I am fairly new to tractors and perhaps it is something I am doing wrong. I did not have problems while bushhogging but it began when I began using the disc harrow. While making a turn, the lower link broke and the disc fell to the ground, the other one was bent pretty badly. I assumed that perhaps I just didn't raise the disc up far enough on the turn, although I thought I was raising it up.
I weld repaired the broken one and bought a new one for the other side. I began discing again, being extremely careful, going slow, making sure I raised the disc completely on the turns. I took a break after half hour and just looked at the new link. The paint on it had crumbled so I knew it had bent a little. As I continued on, the bend got worse and worse until it had a significant curve in it. I'm sure it will break as well if I continue using it. The sway chains are fairly tight, the link can't hit the tires.
The first two photos are the original one that broke and the bent one on the other side. The other two are from the current configuration with one severely bent.
Bent lower link  when other side broke.jpgBroken lower link.jpgCurrent New Link Bent2.jpgCurrent New link bent1.jpg

Last edited:
   / Long 460 Lower Link Bars bending #2  
Does anyone have information on why my lower link bars continue to bend (and eventually break). I am fairly new to tractors and perhaps it is something I am doing wrong. I did not have problems while bushhogging but it began when I began using the disc harrow. While making a turn, the lower link broke and the disc fell to the ground, the other one was bent pretty badly. I assumed that perhaps I just didn't raise the disc up far enough on the turn, although I thought I was raising it up.