lawn mower battery's

/ lawn mower battery's #1  

HEC

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota M5700 @ B2650HSDC
I have been using battery's from Walmart for the past several years for lawn mower and 4 wheelers and having very poor luck with them . I take them out every winter, store them in a warm area , not on a cement floor, charge them with a trickle charger every month or so and come summer their useless sometimes only lasting one summer . What do you guys recommend for a good battery that will at least last 3 or 4 years .

/ lawn mower battery's #2  
It's a crap shoot because you have no way of knowing what you are really getting. I did the same. Went to Walmart even though I have friends in the business that could get me batteries at cost. They could not touch Walmarts price. That worked for a few years, but now I am having poor luck with Walmart batteries. One thing I have noticed about batteries. They are making them lighter, and when they do, they are not as good!

/ lawn mower battery's #3  
Same experience here with the short lived Walmart batteries.
I'm not sure if it'll help extend battery life or not, but 3 years ago I got an Optimate 6 battery charger /maintainer.
I had a one ear old Walmart lawn tractor battery when I got the Optimate 6.
During winter storage of the battery inside a 65* area, 2-3 times during the winter months I'd hooked the Optimate up to the battery and let it do it's charging/maintaining. This past fall I sold the garden tractor with it's battery, and the battery was still going strong. So that Walmart battery lasted 3-4 years. Did the Optimate 6 help extend the life ? Who knows. Longer test will be needed.
I now have 3 batteries in storage through out the winter, and 2-3 times will hook up the Optimate to each of them, hopefully I won't need to buy batteries for awhile.

A buddy of mine turn me on to the Optimate, he had an earlier version, and he swears by them actually bring batteries back to life.