Landsculpting?

/ Landsculpting? #1  

USAFpj

Silver Member
Tractor
1957 841 Powermaster
Guys, I'm an absolute newb to scaping and cultivating land for food plots. How do you guys 'even up' slight rolling hill land to where its best suited for a plot, without ruining your top soil? Do you scrape it, and stack it off to the side as your last step?

If I look at a cross section of (1) acre that I'm interested in working on, there's plenty of year around water, but one side is approx. 3ft higher than the other. Can this be cultivated as is, or is the goal to always have the flattest plot as possible, which means pulling the soil from the high side to place into the low side?

Thanks for the education.

/ Landsculpting? #2  
3 feet over 1 acre is not a lot of slope unless it's all happening in a smaller area. Depends on what you are planting and harvesting, but for most things a slight slope wouldn't bother me at all. I wouldn't cut into a hill unless there was a specific reason the plot needed to be flat (or flatter).

/ Landsculpting? #3  
3 feet over 1 acre is not a lot of slope unless it's all happening in a smaller area. Depends on what you are planting and harvesting, but for most things a slight slope wouldn't bother me at all. I wouldn't cut into a hill unless there was a specific reason the plot needed to be flat (or flatter).

^ ^ ^ I agree. ^ ^ ^​

Food plot seed mixes are eager germinators. If some dirt shows, you roll the seed in and have reasonable rain thereafter, germination is likely to be good.

If you mess with that slope without the time to follow through completely grading you are likely to create erosion channels.

Perhaps the three most common tractor implements used for food plot creation are Disc Harrows (or) PTO-powered Rototillers and Cultipackers to roll the seed in.

Few experienced food plotters would prepare food plot land like a revenue generating field.

Last edited:
   / Landsculpting? #4