Tractor Sizing L-series what size

/ L-series what size #1  

gordon

Veteran Member
Tractor
L4310hst-loader-hydraulic top link
OK here is the question of the day or should I say the next couple of years for me---What size L-series should I buy? I've been looking hard at the 3010 for doing grade work and brush hogging light skidding.

I would like input from other L-series owners on how much or how hard that you work your tractor for its size.
Thanks in advance for any and all input

Gordon

/ L-series what size #2  
Gordon - I'm still a novice tractor user and really can't compare my L3010 to other tractors however I'm happy to share with you how I use it.

Basically I push,pull,lift,brush hog,till,dig and drag. My L3010 is basically a helper that doesn't complain. I recently started using a medium duty 5' Bush Hog model 12, and it pushes the limit on the L3010HST PTO HP. Everything else seems to work pretty well.

If your going to look hard at the Grand L series don't forget to seriously consider getting an HST no matter which one you choose.

The majority of my work with the L3010 is for small scale farming of field and woods plants.

Kevin

/ L-series what size #3  
Gordon - I don't need to say much about what I use my L4310HST for, but I'd say you should opt for the L3710, at least. You get 4 cylinders that way, which adds to the smoothness, not to mention the extra horsepower.

Mark

/ L-series what size
Good point Mark I guess I was dreaming giving up that much horsepower from what I have now, but I like the smaller package.

Was looking at loader specs for the tractors and the breakout and lifting power is much different for the 481 and 681 loader so my head spins on./w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif
Guess I should just break down and go with the 4610
Gordon

/ L-series what size #5  
Gordon, this is good. I new you would come around. /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif
You just wouldn't be happy anything else!! Ithink thats what I did??
RICH

/ L-series what size #6