kUBOTA BX23S - wights, tire chains or ballast box ?

/ kUBOTA BX23S - wights, tire chains or ballast box ? #1  

scaredychicken

Veteran Member
Tractor
John Deere 160 (1988), Arctic Cat 400 ATV (2006), Kubota BX23S (2018), Jacobsen Super Chief 1450 (1969), Cub Cadet RZT S50 zero turn mower (2012)
Hi Everyone,

lots of thick ice, unusual long-term deep-freeze weather, and too much snow = spinning

I've checked a few of the earlier posts about this issue, still looking for the best option for performance /snow removal (I may look at a rear blade in the future).

The tractor was delivered in September 2018, so I am still a newbie / rookie for the most part ... learning a lot. I believe that the tires were filled at the dealership.
I'd like suggestions for the best options between weights, chains, ballast box, or other ... I want a better winter system for next year.

Farmers almanac said that it was going to be a mild winter ... well it started late, came with a vengence, and the deep-freeze has continued for about 5 weeks now with further weeks of freezing in the forecast. Basically, the snow / ice is going no where ... and I need to improve the landscape... I don't want to duplicate efforts.

I'm thinking weights are the simplest and easiest to use.
Chains may be a bit awkward for me, given some limitations
haven't really considered the ballast box option yet
a rear blade or front snow blower may be the future option purchase(s)

thanks for any suggestions

cheers, Scaredychicken

/ kUBOTA BX23S - wights, tire chains or ballast box ? #2  
Of your three options chains are the only one that is good on ice.
And the only really good chain are the Euro or diamond studded;
such as
Aquiline Talons,
OFA,
Trygg.

/ kUBOTA BX23S - wights, tire chains or ballast box ? #3