JOHN DEERE 301A CLUTCH

/ JOHN DEERE 301A CLUTCH #1  

dlstone10

Tractor
john deere 301A
Bought a 301A over a year ago that had been setting along time turns out all I needed to get it started was a new fuel transfer pump and rebuild the starter ….... everything seemed to work well except the rear lift arms wouldn't hold a middle position no biggie ran for a bit but I noticed was gaining motor oil so I shut it down . Set for 6 months just had the injector pump done......runs great but now the clutch won't disengage ….... any thoughts I have very little experience with Deeres always had ford small tractors

Last edited:
   / JOHN DEERE 301A CLUTCH #2  
Sounds like the clutch disc may be stuck to the flywheel from setting. If it's in a place where you can start the tractor in gear, If I remember right from one I mowed with at work, you have 3 forward gears and a high & low. Put it in what I would call 4th gear and drive it while pushing the clutch pedal down and riding the brakes at the same time. Maybe stab the brakes to shock the drive train if it doesn't want to release, just riding the brakes.

Some may suggest after getting it broke loose to block the clutch pedal down to keep it from sticking again if it sets for long periods of time. Personally, I think just using it often is the answer. I've owed 20+ tractors for 40 years and have never had one stuck and some set for a few years as they are collectables and don't get ran all that often. So not sure why some do, and some don't. Maybe the amount of humidity in the air has something to do with it causing the flywheel surface to rust causing them to stick.