JD L118 or Cub Cadet 1050? Opinions please

/ JD L118 or Cub Cadet 1050? Opinions please #1  

KeyserSoze

Newbie here. I am in the market for a new lawn tractor. I am considering the John Deere L118 and the Cub Cadet 1050. I will be using it mostly to mow about a flat acre with some trees and landscaping areas (more than a few but less than a lot) to mow around.

Both mowers are $2K but you seem to get a little more for the money with the Cub. The Cub has more HP and a larger deck but I would like to get some opinions from some of you on the quality of these mowers and recommendations on which would be a better buy.

Also if there are any other mowers in this same class that I should consider please let me know.

I know these tractors are the low end for JD and CC but my budget won't let me go up to the better quality tractors.

Thanks.

/ JD L118 or Cub Cadet 1050? Opinions please #2  
Call me Kubayashi. My neighbor has the predecessor to the JD L118 (I think it's an L110?), and I tried it once. It was a nice mower, smooth quiet engine and a pretty tight turning radius. Can't comment on the Cub. (Didn't you post something like this at Garden Web?)

Welcome to TBN, Kaiser! /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

/ JD L118 or Cub Cadet 1050? Opinions please
It wasn't me that posted on Garden Web. This is the first forum that I found on tractors and it seems that it has plenty of traffic so I posted my question here. But thanks for the heads up. I will go find the Garden Web forum and find out what people had to say there about my options.

Thanks Kubayashi. Keyser knew he could count on you.

/ JD L118 or Cub Cadet 1050? Opinions please #4