It amazes me the unsafe way people haul stuff....

/ It amazes me the unsafe way people haul stuff.... #1  

denverdave66

Silver Member
Tractor
2012 John Deere 1016, FEL, 60"MMM
I never really paid much attention to how people hauled tractors and equipment on trailers until I started hauling mine. I am a rookie only have hauled my John Deere 1026 on my trailer a couple of times but I wanted to do it right and be safe. I don't care for ratchet straps so I went out and bought 3/8" frade 70 chain and used my chain binders to take up the slack. I saw a guy the other day hauled a skid steer and only had 1 chain and it was a small chain going over the rear and no chain binders at all, it was so loose if he made a sharp turn I guarantee it would have turned over. I just can't believe the way people throw there equipment on trailers and not even worried about if they are not tied down properly. I prolly go a little overkill since my 1026 prolly weights less than 2000 pounds but I no its not going anywhere. Check out my pics and if you see I am doing it wrong let me know. I want my equipment to be safe. If and when I haul the loader or brush hog I will throw a chain over them too or use a ratchet strap.

Attachments

• 064.JPG
    064.JPG
    623 KB · Views: 696
  • 063.JPG
    063.JPG
    461.3 KB · Views: 640
  • 065.jpg
    065.jpg
    654.1 KB · Views: 703
   / It amazes me the unsafe way people haul stuff.... #2  
One chain at each end would be adequate, but like you said this way you know you are fine.

/ It amazes me the unsafe way people haul stuff.... #3  
You need 7-10% of load on trailer tongue.

/ It amazes me the unsafe way people haul stuff....
You need 7-10% of load on trailer tongue.