Insurance requirements to bush hog, etc locally.

/ Insurance requirements to bush hog, etc locally. #1  

Gale Hawkins

Tractor
1948 Allis Chambers Model B 1976 265 MF / 1983 JD 310B Backhoe / 1966 Ford 3000 Diesel / 1980 3600 Diesel
I get asked from time to time to bush hog a small area or dig a footer for a carport.

In reading another thread the question popped up in my mind is insurance required if you do any tractor work for hire?

I have a farm policy but 'assume' it would not cover when working for hire. Would helping a neighbor without charge make any difference if something went wrong?

/ Insurance requirements to bush hog, etc locally. #2  
As an architect, I'm often asked for advice, and usually give it. Id be pretty un-neighborly not to. But it's a minefield. Even if I don't charge for that advice, I can still be sued if someone follows it and suffers loss or expense because the advice was bad. My insurer therefore doesn't like me giving free advice, even to family.

Doing freebies on the tractor is no different. If you make a mistake and someone suffers loss due to negligence, they can sue.

You have two protections: the first is to limit liability by operating as a limited liability company. Then the limit of your liability is essentially the assets of the company. If you're doing freebies, you'd likely have to demonstrate you were acting on behalf of the company and not as a private citizen. That might be tricky. If your sued as Mr Citizen, you can be stripped bare. Always best to operate as a limited liability company.

The second protection is insurance. An indemnity policy for third party damage of, say, $3 million will have a pretty hefty deductible. So make a mistake and it will still cost you even if it costs the insurance company more. And if you seriously injure someone and they are awarded damages in excess of the amount your insured against, you will be liable for the shortfall.