IH 46 Knotter not releasing

/ IH 46 Knotter not releasing #1  

grovestead

Tractor
John Deere 3020
Caveat, I'm very new to this. I have baled about 400 bales in total over the past 2 years. I continue to have problems with the inside knotter on my IH 46 baler. About every 6-10th bale, the inside string breaks and when I check it out its almost always the same problem: multiple knots at the billhooks. I have to use a needle nose to pull out the knots and rethread the needle. Then it works again for several bales.

I am continuing to dial in settings like string tension, and polishing the billhooks. But its very hard to "test" my repairs because I have to wait for another baling to try it out.

Any thoughts about multiple knots or the inside billhooks not releasing?

Thanks!

/ IH 46 Knotter not releasing #2  
I will suggest that the wiper arm scraper is worn enough to miss a billhook release. Usually an easy fix: The arm is malleable steel so you can simply bend it. The book calls for the wiper to actually scrape the billhook. I use two Crescent wrenches to get this done. One on the arm flat and the other on the first wrenche's blade. This step is actually where the knot is completed. While the knotter is flipped up to inspect it, jiggle the wiper arm to feel if the shaft bearings are worn out. Maybe that's why you get a few good ones and then, boom.

/ IH 46 Knotter not releasing
I will suggest that the wiper arm scraper is worn enough to miss a billhook release. Usually an easy fix: The arm is malleable steel so you can simply bend it. The book calls for the wiper to actually scrape the billhook. I use two Crescent wrenches to get this done. One on the arm flat and the other on the first wrenche's blade. This step is actually where the knot is completed. While the knotter is flipped up to inspect it, jiggle the wiper arm to feel if the shaft bearings are worn out. Maybe that's why you get a few good ones and then, boom.

Thanks.