Ibc tote for fertilizer

/ Ibc tote for fertilizer #1  

Saucymynx

Tractor
LS MT7 101 Farmall 656 Ford 2610 Farmall 140. JD 670
hi there. I am new to hay production So please forgive me if this is a stupid question. I have 10 acres of orchard grass and alfalfa hay ground in the central upper peninsula of Michigan. With last year‘s drought it produced 1.25 tons of hay per acre. I did fertilize last year according to soil testing and at that time had a bulk fertilizer dealer 8 miles away from whom I could borrow their commercial spreader. They have since stopped dealing fertilizer and the next closest place is 45 miles away. For me to use their spreader with mean four trips each way to pick up the spreader and return it per application. With only 10 acres, I could easily spread it with my three point hitch mounted hopper spreader. My question is, how to transport two tons of bulk fertilizer.? One idea I have is to use a 250 gallon IBC tote. With the density of fertilizer, each tote should hold about 2000 pounds of fertilizer. I could easily move that with my loader and lift it up high enough to fill the hopper. Is this a crazy idea? Have any of you ever done that? Thanks so much for any advice you

/ Ibc tote for fertilizer #2  
Works for me. I get my granulated urea for my hayfields in 50 pound sacks on a pallet.

You had better be prepared for sticker shock however. The price of nitrogen has doubled since last year.

/ Ibc tote for fertilizer #3