I just used the coolest toy!!

/ I just used the coolest toy!! #1  

Iplayfarmer

Tractor
Massey Ferguson 1215, Case 801B
I am a volunteer EMT and tonight we just trained on our newest extrication equipment. (Jaws of Life)

We just got a Holmatro pump, combi-tool (spreader and cutter), and telescoping ram. (Mallory is the distributor here in the northwest.) The rep delivered the tools today and did a demo. We spent about 2 hours cutting up cars, and these tools are nice!

The reason I'm posting here is because of the hydraulic hose system they use. They've got a single hose that delivers pressured fluid down an inside hose and the return low pressure comes back via an outer jacket. The nice thing about this is that if the inner 10,000 psi pressured hose gets any kind of breach or compromise, it just leaks fluid into the return stream and back to the pump.

There are no metal parts in the hose and the rep took his hose and kinked it completely back on itself while we were cutting and let it go again. You couldn't tell where the hose had been kinked. It didn't leave any kind of a crease. Also the kinked line had no affect on the tool.

The system was completely hot swappable. We swapped back and forth between our combi-tool and ram and some of his cutters, spreaders and other demo tools. I saw the hose swapped at least a half dozen times with the pump running and never saw a drop of fluid leak out.

It won't be tomorrow, but I'll bet we see some benefits of this technology in tractors, etc. in the future.

/ I just used the coolest toy!! #2  
Sounds pretty neat. I can only imagine how expensive the fittings are for it :eek:

/ I just used the coolest toy!! #3  
First of all, thanks for being a volunteer EMT. My wife is an EMT so I know the time and dedication it takes to become one.

That hose is probably a standard 10,000 psi jack hose. It's the outer hose that sounds wild to me. I've never even heard of that. I'm going to research it, sounds pretty neat.