Hydraulic Sickle Mower for Skid Steer/Gehl Power Beyond

/ Hydraulic Sickle Mower for Skid Steer/Gehl Power Beyond #1  

r8f1k

Silver Member
Tractor
Farmall 100, Allis Chalmers D14, International Super MTA, IH 560, Mahindra 4510, Gehl 4500, Clark CY45, JD 800, JD 60
I have an early 80's Gehl 4500 skid steer, 4 cylinder Ford gasoline. I would like to add a Sabre Samurai Sickle mower attachment to the front bucket.

SABRE SAMURAI CUTTER | Cutthat.com - Home Of Sabre Samurai & Sabre Divider

I have no remotes on the skid steer and I have no idea where to start in adding them. I have some hydraulic experience, but not enough to know exactly what to do here. I assume that I will need to find pressure and return somewhere in the skid steer. I will need a spool valve, but no idea what kind. I will need hoses, connectors, etc. Has anyone done anything like this? Any photos, diagrams, info would be great!! Does anyone know how to plumb a Gehl 4500 for power beyond?

/ Hydraulic Sickle Mower for Skid Steer/Gehl Power Beyond
I have that parts manual, however, it does not indicate where it is getting the pressure for that remote hook up from. Thoughts?

/ Hydraulic Sickle Mower for Skid Steer/Gehl Power Beyond #4  
R8,
I marked up a couple of pages from the parts manual. This is my best guess based on these documents but 99% sure that you will need to purchase a power beyond adapter sleeve for the existing loader control valve. This power beyond would then supply your aux hydraulics valve.

Attachments

• 4500 pwr byd plug.pdf
    128 KB · Views: 89
  • 4500 pwr byd.pdf
    104.7 KB · Views: 82
What is and where can one acquire an adapter sleeve?

Ok, I think I am getting it.

Based on your second file 4500 pwr byd.pdf, there is a hose labeled No. 29, is that the return hose?
I also assume that the sleeve fits into a location that currently has a plug of some kind?

/ Hydraulic Sickle Mower for Skid Steer/Gehl Power Beyond #7  
R8,