how much to tip?

/ how much to tip? #1  

daugen

Super Star Member
Tractor
in between now
Applebee’s waitress fired, church embarrassed after pastor’s receipt goes viral | World | News | National Post

reading this made me post this question in rural living, since urban areas seem to run by their own rules.
Wait staff, and I have plenty of experience early on doing that, cannot live on 10%.
I think that is as unreasonable as demanding/auto deducting 18% on parties of x or more.
How many big parties skip out without a tip? Are people that nasty? I'm hoping it's a real minority, so
"protecting" its employees by mandatory tipping has always seemed shaky to me.

Am I going to give that nice lady who refilled my coffee cup only 18% or whatever of $1.49? No way.
Too hard to do the math anyway...:)
They are going to get something rounded up, likely way more than 18%.

yes lady, you have brought embarrassment to yourself. Tipping wait staff and tithing to a church are not in the same universe.

I am not hesitant to leave a small tip, or no tip, if the meal was awful, caused by the wait staff. And I will always tell them why, as nicely
as I can. I'm not a patient guy, though doing better
in retirement, in less of a rush, but let my coffee cup get stone cold and I'm going to meet some resistance pulling that extra one out...

Tips are meant to be earned. If they are, does leaving two bucks total for a 1.29 cup of coffee seem too much? I know I tend to be generous, since I spent so many
hours bussing tables in high school. When you are on the other end of that very heavy tray, hour after hour, getting dis'd by patrons that you busted your hump for is
really discouraging. So I try in my way to make up for the cheapskates and losers who stiff the waitress. Not crazy tipping, just on the more generous side. I start with 20%, if only
because it's easier to figure out, and then work up or down from there.