Help a brother out: Is e-Hydro safe for haying operations?

/ Help a brother out: Is e-Hydro safe for haying operations? #1  

Wobblin-Goblin

Gold Member
Tractor
2021 Massey Ferguson 4707
I've heard rumors here and there that hydro transmissions aren't very good for haying, as the constant "same speed" towing for hours can hurt the hydro transmission.

Is this true...or is the JD e-Hydro developed enough (and stout enough) to handle haying for hours?

I have a twinkle in my eye for a new 4520 and would prefer the e-Hydro because I do a fair amount of loader work as well...but the PowrReverser would do I suppose.

Anybody with answers on this?

/ Help a brother out: Is e-Hydro safe for haying operations? #2  
I'm no mechanic, engineer, etc., so I can't say for sure, but I guess everyone has heard that manual gears are better for constant speeds, especially with ground engaging equipment such as plows. So you can take what I say for what it's worth.

When I was helping a neighbor with hay work, he wanted me to run his bigger tractor with the baler while he did the raking, and he had an old Farmall Super H that he was using to do the raking. Well, it broke down early in the day once, so we got my little B7100 Kubota and he continued raking the rest of the day with that. I don't remember how many hours he ran it, but it stared with a full tank of fuel and he ran out. I had to bleed the injectors, refuel it, etc. and he continued the rest of the day.

I later had a Kubota B2710 and used a 5' brush hog with it. Three times I mowed for a neighbor on a job that took about 21 to 22 hours and I did it each time in 2 days. So I ran that little Kubota 11 to 12 hours at PTO speed in mid-range.

I sure can't tell you how well that e-hydro John Deere will last, but personally I wouldn't be afraid to work it in the hayfield.

/ Help a brother out: Is e-Hydro safe for haying operations? #3  
I bought a JD 4120 Power Reverser for loader operation. I love it!!!

John