Glow plugs and diesels

/ Glow plugs and diesels #1  

GSS

Gold Member
Tractor
Cub Cadet 7360SS, MF1100 & JDx585
I bit the bullet and got the 7360SS with fel and 72" finish mower... Now, let's get this forum hoppin'!

The manual says to turn the key to the "glow plug" position, wait til the light goes out and then turn it over. It seems to take a [censored] long time before going out though. Do I have to wait? My buddy always waits for his light to go out on his truck before starting it.

Thanks.

- G

/ Glow plugs and diesels #2  
How long does it take? I would say yes,As the plugs warm up the chamber for easier starting.Should be around 30 seconds.But I'm no expert/w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

Can you post any pics of the new cub?

/ Glow plugs and diesels #3  
GSS,
You should wait for the light to go out. You want the plugs to be hot. You should notice that as the ambient temperature gets warmer the time to glow should decrease. If not I would contact the dealer.
Bruce

/ Glow plugs and diesels
I don't know for sure. Unfortunately, I have only started it once since I got it. The rain has been practically constant! When it's not raining, it seems like I'm sitting here in this blasted cubicle... It's supposed to be nice tonight, so I'll be patient and time it.

They are on my camera. I just have to pull them off.

- G

/ Glow plugs and diesels #5  
GSS, welcome to TBN! and a special welcome to another Cub owner!

On my 7260, I wait till the glow plug light goes out. You get used to it, and it always starts right up. Good luck with your new rig.

Corm

/ Glow plugs and diesels
Thanks, Corm!

/ Glow plugs and diesels #7  
I have a 7260 as well. The length of time the light stays on depends upon the temp; usually about 15 seconds. We also have a couple of Farmall 504's. They take about a minute.

/ Glow plugs and diesels
Sorry...