Ford 881 starts up, abruptly dies...

/ Ford 881 starts up, abruptly dies... #1  

sleuth

Silver Member
Tractor
between tractors
I recently replaced the fuel shutoff valve on my Ford 881. Tractor was running good before, but I noticed the valve was leaking so I replaced it and the leak is stopped.

However, after running ok for a for a couple days after that, my tractor is starting up fine, but abruptly dies anywhere for 5 seconds to 30 seconds after start-up. I've checked my fuel line for rust, and I have good flow of fuel all the way down to the sediment bowl for sure. I did add an inline fuel filter a couple years ago but again, I've got good flow all the way from the tank to the sediment bowl, so that makes me think it's not a fuel issue.

If that's true, then the other culprits would have to be either air or spark, right? Could it be time for new spark plugs?

I'm still a beginner with these old tractors, so you'll probably have to spell it out for me and pics really help. LOL.
29214100_10157159609659409_3784944224567296000_n.jpg

/ Ford 881 starts up, abruptly dies... #2