Fertilizer spreading

/ Fertilizer spreading #1  

Brady D

Silver Member
Tractor
Ford 1910, Case farmall 95, John Deere 317g
Stopped by the local co-op to get the fertilizer wagon and a couple thousand pounds of fertilizer for my sheep fields, the little ford took it like a champ.

Attachments

• 60017EF3-0C5A-42E2-A02C-3ECFD0BA2C6E.jpeg
    60017EF3-0C5A-42E2-A02C-3ECFD0BA2C6E.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 95
   / Fertilizer spreading #2  
I've never done that before, but it's been on my list of things to learn about when I get my land cleared. Can you share some more info about what you are spreading and how the pricing works in your area?

/ Fertilizer spreading
I've never done that before, but it's been on my list of things to learn about when I get my land cleared. Can you share some more info about what you are spreading and how the pricing works in your area?
The people at the counter suggested I believe they called it 603030 with some weed killer mixed in it’s also pasture safe so it won’t harm the animals, you spread it about 200 pounds per acre is what they suggested

/ Fertilizer spreading #4  
Thanks. I did a soil test when I first bought my land and it came back that I needed half a ton per acre of lime. That overwhelmed me, so I sort of never bothered with any of that since then. Eventually I'll need to do another test and start working on improving my pastures, but for now, I'm still taking out trees and just trying to get some pasture.

/ Fertilizer spreading #5  
Best bet is to use soil sampling. Results from your soil samples will give the recommended nitrogen/phosphate/potash mix (101010, 603030, etc) and spread rate. Depending on whats growing there now and how it gets cleared would also help determine what else gets mixed in (lime, etc)
Do you have a local county extension office? The local USDA offices can be somewhat useful too in helping you get setup with nutrient management, livestock rotation, etc.