Feathering Backhoe Controls

/ Feathering Backhoe Controls #1  

SLOBuds

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L35
I have a post over in Owning/Operating which asks folks to give me hints on how to come up to speed on the backhoe. I'm very uncoordinated and it's taking me a long time to get the hang of it.

One fellow told me this - which says that my tractor, a Kubota L35, was hard for him too because the controls seemed to be 'all on' or 'all off'.

Well I'm not the best to judge because I am still learning and have plenty of jerky motions with my hands/arms going in the wrong directions. But it does seem to me that I have to very carefully move the joystick to get the different backhoe motions to move slowly. I almost have to push it with a couple of fingers to get the motions slowed down.

Is there a way for me to adapt my hydraulics so that the joystick is more gradual in its operation? Or is that effect due to a basic engineering design on my backhoe valves?

Thanks.

/ Feathering Backhoe Controls #2  
I have no hydraulic knowledge but, I wonder if someone who does thinks you could put some bushings or restrictions in line to lessen the hydrauic flow, thus slowing the response to control input?
All that aside, I thought mine was too quick and jerky but, after some quality seat time, I think it is about right. For me, it was mostly the swing speed. Now I don't want it slower, I've gotten a little bit better at the controls.
Has anyone mentioned less engine rpm's? trouble is, it slows everything down.

/ Feathering Backhoe Controls #3  
Is the L39 similar to the feel of the L35 TLB?

/ Feathering Backhoe Controls #4  
How fast are you running the engine? When I was learning to use mine someone suggested running the engine at a low speed to start off. As you get the hang of it, you can speed it up. For me this was great advice, so I'll pass it on.....

/ Feathering Backhoe Controls