DuoGrip vs diamond pattern chains

/ DuoGrip vs diamond pattern chains #1  

John_Mc

Elite Member
Tractor
NH TC33D Modified with belly pan, limb risers & FOPS. Honda Pioneer 520 & antique Coot UTV
I just ordered a set of studded Duo-Grip chains for my rear tires (15-19.5 R4 style) over the holidays. I had been using studded 4-link ladder style for the past 10+ years, and wanted to upgrade to something with better lateral traction in the woods. The Duo-Grip chains certainly do have better lateral traction, which is great on side hills or in rough terrain. The problem is that the ride is incredibly rough when driving on hard surfaces (dirt roads, paved roads, bare frozen ground). I'm not sure what is going to shake apart first, the tractor or me. Since I regularly need to drive 3+miles on back roads from one property to another, and dread having to slow to "in the woods speed" while doing this, I'm looking for a better solution. (I'd like to stick with studded chains, because in addition to my work in the woods, I need to get up and down my driveway in the winter. The east facing hill is often icy and slicker than a luge run.)

I could buy some cross links, to add in between each duo-grip pattern, converting them to a combination ladder/duo-grip style (I'd also need to bu the tool for adding these). This supposedly smooths out the ride a bit, but I'm wondering if it will be enough. Perhaps the studded Diamond style chains would be better for my use. I'm sure I could find a buyer for my Duo-Grips chains.

So my questions:
  1. Is the ride with the Diamond patter chains significantly smoother than the DuoGrips? (hopefully as good as my old 4-link V-bar ladder chains)
  2. How does the traction compare between the DuoGrip V-bars and the Diamond pattern studded? (both forward an side-to-side)
  3. Is the ease of installation of the Diamond pattern chains similar to that of the DuoGrips?