doing things the hard way

/ doing things the hard way #1  

muddstopper

Veteran Member
Tractor
Ventrac, Steiner
I have been collecting parts to build a wood processor for a couple of years now. If I had stuck to my original plan, the darn thing would be built by now, But!
Gathering parts on the cheap is sometimes hard to do, but patience and no urgency means I can wait to find all the parts. I am preparing to start building the splitter part. I had purchased a 5in bore cylinder for this project, but used it on my other splitter instead. With my current splitter I already had a 4in cylinder and a 4way wedge, since adding the 5in cyl, I also added 2 more wedges and made it a 6way split. I also added a 28gpm two stage pump. Works great but, On some of the larger knarly rounds, it still seems a little low on power. With this in mind, and since I plan on a 12 way wedge for the processor, I decided a 6in cylinder might be a better choice. I havent had much luck in finding a used 6in cylinder and new ones are kind of pricey. Also, the ports are usually only 3/4 npt and rod size of 3in dia. . I am wanting to throw around 40gpm to the cylinder and dont really want the restriction the 3/4 ports provide. Now my plans are to use 2-4in cylinders The 4in bore and 2in shaft of the 2-4in cyls would be equal to the 6in bore and 3in shaft of the 6in cylinder. The plus is that I will have 2 3/4in ports to flow the oil thru. Yea I could buy a 6in cyl and install larger ports, but the price of 2 4's is less than one 6in

Now the questions. What is the best way to divide the oil between the 2 cylinders. Hose off pump will be a #16. I am considering just using a tee and and using #12jic from tee to cylinders.
Also considered building a manifold out of pipe, but think the tee would work as well as a pipe mainfold, with less chance of bursting. Also considered a divider valve, but is there really any advantage to going that route and the added expense.