Oil & Fuel diesel rated antifreeze

/ diesel rated antifreeze #1  

big bubba

Elite Member
Tractor
M8540
Members: I usually go w/Prestone green coolant. in Kubota M series tractor...Some recommend coolants that are specifically diesel rated. Your take? Is Prestone rated so? thanks bb

/ diesel rated antifreeze #2  
I'm no expert, but as far as I know antifreeze is antifreeze. When you think about it, its job is to cool the engine and prevent freezing in cold weather. I know in trucks there is no diesel rating, so I don't think tractors would be any different.

/ diesel rated antifreeze #3  
It's my take that regular Prestone coolant mixed 50/50 with distilled water would be fine for your tractor.If you prefer,coolant is available pre-mixed 50/50 with de-ionized water.An excellent way to go for your needs.

/ diesel rated antifreeze #4  
To be sure, use Fleet Charge anti-freeze.
It's specially formulated for "wet sleeved" diesel engines. Fleet Charge SCA Precharged heavy duty anti-freeze which provides optimum protection against freezing, boil over, cavitation erosion, corrosion and scale for all heavy duty cooling system applications.

You can get it at any auto parts store or TSC ... places like that. You might as well flush the system while you're at it, again to be sure your system is as good as it can be.
Here is a thread when I did my tractor: Kama 554 Radiator Maintenance and Mods
Rob-

/ diesel rated antifreeze #5  
I'm no expert, but as far as I know antifreeze is antifreeze. When you think about it, its job is to cool the engine and prevent freezing in cold weather. I know in trucks there is no diesel rating, so I don't think tractors would be any different.