Deere PTO engagement ???

/ Deere PTO engagement ??? #1  

gbw

Bronze Member
I'm fairly new to tractors and such....asking for help!

I have a Deere 4320, almost new, eHydro.
Also a very old MF 5' heavy duty cutter. No pto shaft clutch of any kind, straight direct drive.

The pto engagement on the tractor is fairly violent.

So, in the hopes of reducing wear and tear, I've been careful to engage and disengage the PTO only when there is no load on the cutter and only at lowest RPM (about 1000).

Is this correct? Any other suggestions? Thanks!

/ Deere PTO engagement ??? #2  
Yup, found the same on my Dads 4410 and did the same as you.

Sure you don't have a shear bolt setup ?

/ Deere PTO engagement ???
Thanks, Willl. Yes, input shaft on the cutter is driven by a bolt through it and the yoke collar. It is 1.5" in diameter shaft, and 3/8" bolt. The bolt that's in it now is a grade 5, so definitely NOT a shear pin.

Even if it were I'd rather not shear it every time I engage the PTO, which seems likely if I did it at speed - that PTO really jumps to life when you hit the button, and no way to ease it up to speed except by engaging at low engine speed.

But I don't know that this is the 'Deere approved' method or not. Just made the most sense to me, so I thought I'd ask the experts here.

/ Deere PTO engagement ??? #4  
You can get an owners manual online. Do a search and you should find it in PDF form. But my manual says the same thing engage PTO as slow speed and then bring it up to rated RPM.

/ Deere PTO engagement ??? #6  
It also sounds like you may have an Independent PTO which in many cases allows little or no feathering to engage the PTO.

The live PTO in my experience is a much better setup which not only allows you to feather the PTO to engage, but also allows you panic stop the PTO by depressing the clutch.

Not real clear to me why Idependent PTO's seem to be all the rage these days on many of the newer tractors.