Cyclone Rake Toughness

/ Cyclone Rake Toughness #1  

KennyG

Elite Member
Tractor
John Deere 2320
I have a Cyclone Rake Commercial Pro I've been using for about 8 years now. When leaf vacuums are discussed, some people question the CR because it uses a plastic/composite blower while some others use metal. I ordered mine with the hardened steel liner because I have acorns and sand. With the pickup tube I often pick up small rocks also. I've kept an eye on the fan and have not seen damage. Yesterday, I was sucking up a pile of leaves and uncovered a spray can of OFF insect repellent. I saw it just before it entered the pickup tube.

There was a loud bang when it hit the fan and I immediately shut the unit down. I looked carefully at the fan and there is no sign that anything happened. It was crushed and went right through. I don't think I want to repeat the test, but I now think the fan is almost indestructible.

/ Cyclone Rake Toughness #2  
That's good to hear. I have a hand-held leaf blower/vac with a plastic impeller. I used it for years and years just as a blower. Excellent machine. One season I decided to put the bagger on it and use it as a vac. It ate the impeller. I was bummed, because it was a sweet running little blower. Parts are no longer available. :(

/ Cyclone Rake Toughness #3  
I have a Cyclone Rake Commercial Pro I've been using for about 8 years now. When leaf vacuums are discussed, some people question the CR because it uses a plastic/composite blower while some others use metal. I ordered mine with the hardened steel liner because I have acorns and sand. With the pickup tube I often pick up small rocks also. I've kept an eye on the fan and have not seen damage. Yesterday, I was sucking up a pile of leaves and uncovered a spray can of OFF insect repellent. I saw it just before it entered the pickup tube.