concrete slab for compost

/ concrete slab for compost #1  

Eric_Phillips

Platinum Member
Tractor
FarmTrac 270DTC
My wife wants to compost her horse manure on concrete slabs. I have never poured a slab before, any tips? I was thinking of making the top level with the ground so I am not having to adjust the bucket when the wheels get to the slab. The bays I was going to make about a foot wider than the bucket. What about ground prep. It will be on sandy loam. Is 4" thick good and what about rebar?

/ concrete slab for compost #2  
You will probably get an ear full of responses about concrete. Can you get some of the loam dug out to get to some more solid dirt as a base? I am no concrete expert. But I would think the fact that you are going to drive on it with the tractor and having the compost pile. You would want at least 4" with some rebar. Depending on how big of a slab you might want some relief cuts in the slab. Having a ramp onto the slab seems to make sense in my mind which means having the slab slightly above ground level. The run off from the compost will you have to worry about that much? Say if you get a large rain and it starts to float away the material and liquids.
Ahh I am just rambling here it seems. Let some other bright person chime in and give you some good advice. Get some friends to help you pour the slab. It really isn't hard if you have some forms built there. I had a ready mix truck drive up and mix the concrete on site and to the thickness I needed. It was a piece of (concrete) cake.

/ concrete slab for compost #3