Forks Comparison Test--Attachable Loader Forks

/ Comparison Test--Attachable Loader Forks #31  
Yeah, funny isn't it? I'm no mechanical or materials engineer, but I'm sure tubular steel is stronger pound-for-pound than solid steel. Also, I believe many forklifts have gone to tubular steel, although many are also solid. Do you suppose it's spring steel? Maybe some materials types can jump in here with some facts. My guess is that both our forks can lift more than the capacity of our loaders, so this discussion is probably purely academic. It surely is interesting though.

JimI

/ Comparison Test--Attachable Loader Forks #32  
Yeah, mine are solid, too, and each one weighs 90 lbs. so on a small tractor that does lower the payload you can handle.

Bird

/ Comparison Test--Attachable Loader Forks #33  
jinman
I noticed on your picture of attachable forks that the bucket on your TC has a thick and wide cutting edge.

Did that cutting edge come on your TC or did you put it on?

I got my TC45D in August and bent the bottom of the bucket within the first 2 hours of light loader work. My bucket has a 3/8" x 3.5" cutting edge. My bucket is a standard weight bucket. I ordered a heavy duty bucket, but NH screwed up and shipped the wrong one. It turns out the only difference between a standard bucket and heavy duty are vertical cutting edges and pre-drilled holes for a tooth bar(about 30lbs difference in shipping weight). NH buckets seem pretty weak if you ask me. I think they should have at least a 1/2" cutting edge to make the bottom of the bucket stronger.

I will be making attachable forks and putting on a thicker cutting edge soon. I think the forks would bend the bucket more with the current cutting edge.

Tim

Attachments

• 5-73347-bucketbend.JPG
    5-73347-bucketbend.JPG
    47.6 KB · Views: 170
   / Comparison Test--Attachable Loader Forks #34  
Tim,

Your grapple set up looks pretty interesting. Any chance of getting some information and photos?

MarkV