Chinese mini-X track came off....now what?

/ Chinese mini-X track came off....now what? #1  

dfkrug

Tractor
05 Kioti CK30HST w/ Prairie Dog backhoe, XN08 mini-X
Well, I have been using my Chinese excavator, and I now have almost 30 hours on it. For those who have not seen my earlier thread on how I got it, it is a 1-ton unit called an XN08, made by Xiniu, aka Shandong Landworld Machinery.

I knew it would happen eventually: I threw a track. By that I mean one of the tracks is displaced inward such that the idler wheel is outside of the guide lug pairs. This small machine features mechanical track tensioners, rather than the hydraulic tensioners you would normally see on a modern machine. I am a total noob when it comes to experience with ANY excavator (or skid steer) track tensioners.

It is hard to see the idler wheel in the first photo, but the track is almost touching the dozer boom. The track has been displaced inward by about an inch.

The 2nd photo shows the tensioner, but there is nothing in the docs about which direction you turn the bolt. (The answer I later find out is clockwise is more tension.)

Attachments

• track_5.jpg
    track_5.jpg
    100.9 KB · Views: 588
  • track_adjuster.jpg
    track_adjuster.jpg
    97.3 KB · Views: 556
   / Chinese mini-X track came off....now what?
So, I am out in the field when all this happens, naturally. I contacted Xiniu, and they told me the tensioning procedure, and they posted this video:
how to install rubber track if the rubber track off - YouTube

The video show 2 guys with crowbars, forcing the track, while someone else operates the drive control. No way I am going to have ONE, let alone 2 helpers.