Box blade uses?

/ Box blade uses? #1  

Fuddy1952

Elite Member
Tractor
1973 Economy and 2018 John Deere 3038E
When I bought my green tractor I got lots of attachments, FEL (tooth bar for it), backhoe, grapple, auger, boom, bush hog. The grapple I rarely use.
I was thinking about a box blade and have a few (stupid?) questions. First I assume you can adjust the ripper shanks for depth of cut, but I have areas that heavy trucks drove over in pasture making it bumpy. Rather than tearing up the hay can loose soil be put into the box blade so it would just drop in the low spots when pulled along, shanks up high?
I have one steep area, gravel (railroad ballast) that goes either side of a creek. Would it work smoothing it out?
I've never used one before. Thanks...

/ Box blade uses? #2  
check youtube for how to use one. lots of good videos. But, to answer your question about the shanks, yes they can be raised or even removed. Another thing, to move dirt effectively you will need to adjust your top link either shorter or longer - this is how you adjust how much "bite" the blade has while your are pulling it. Shorter top link tilts the front of the box blade down and digs into the ground while moving forward, while moving backward it just shoves the pile of dirt filling low spots. Longer top link tilts the front of the blade up and pulls the pile of dirt while moving forward, it will cut into the ground in reverse. Only a little adjustment is needed - too much and it can dig in too deep for your tractor to pull unless you've got a big one. Also, depending on your style of lift arms you can "tilt" the blade - higher or lower on either the left or right. Why? to dig a ditch or crown a road. Again, youtube has lots of good videos which show you what I just said. good luck, a box blade is a powerful tool with lots of uses.

/ Box blade uses? #3  
   / Box blade uses? #5  
I was thinking about a box blade and have a few questions.