Box Scraper Box blade the right attachment?

/ Box blade the right attachment? #1  

wmonroe

Elite Member
Tractor
1958 Ford 961 Powermaster
I am getting ready to put a driveway in on a piece of property. I want to remove approx. 6 inches of topsoil and was not sure if a box blade is the right attachment. A dozer would be perfect and make this a quick job, but I have time and want to do this myself. Will a box blade work to remove about 6" of soil or am I way off.
Thank you

/ Box blade the right attachment? #2  
I'm no expert for sure, but my experience is you can't move much dirt very far with a box blade. I use it primarily for smoothing (e.g., filling the dips over a short distance). How long and wide is your proposed driveway? Where are you moving that 6" of topsoil to (how far away)? 100', perhaps - 1,000', not practical IMHO.

/ Box blade the right attachment? #3  
Don't know what equipment or attachments you have, but I would rent a tiller to work up the topsoil first, then scoop it up with a bucket. For me, much easier to control the depth and the top soil is in much better condition to use as lawn filler elswhere.

But don't know all you are faced with, or what you need. I wouldn't do it with a box blade. Others might however. :)

/ Box blade the right attachment? #4  
A box blade will work ... not fast but will do it... I would disk or till it up first... not having either of those attachments I might go at it with the rippers. Then box blade to wherever you are placing it... as was mentioned if you are moving it very far you may never get it done. KennyV.

/ Box blade the right attachment?
It will be a long driveway but I was thinking use the rippers on the box blade to tear it up and move the dirt to piles and then use the front loader to take it to wherever I'm going to put it. I don't own a box blade yet but was going to buy one for this and then for future driveway maintenance.
Oh and the current tractor is a Kubota B8700 4x4 with FEL.