Grading Back Blade question

/ Back Blade question #1  

HEC

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota M5700 @ B2650HSDC
I have a back blade and I have never used one before.The three point hitch I take it was designed to pull is there any issues with pushing on the three point hitch that one should be aware of as I had planned on using it for both forward for some applications and in reverse for others.
Thanks,
Herb

/ Back Blade question #2  
Almost all blades are reversable - Pull or Push. No problem with the hitch, but what about your neck? All that twisting a craning.

/ Back Blade question #3  
If you're pushing when driving in reverse, yes, you can damage your 3PH. I've never bent/broke anything with a regular scraper blade (since it's the weakest point and something on it will normally bend first) but have bent things on my tractor's 3PH using a box blade.

Not sure what kind/size of blade you have but your M5700 3PH components are "probably" stronger than the blade so you'll "probably" be OK.

/ Back Blade question #4  
I have never personally bent anything going backward, but in the past there has been several members on TBN that have. They have broken or bent everything from the sway links to the lower lift arms. Some of the lift arms are over $200 each to replace.

/ Back Blade question #5  
If you've ever used a wood winch you'd realize that 3ph's are made to push. Can't speak for anything less than Cat II. Perhaps small tractors are more likely to break?

/ Back Blade question
Thanks for all the input,I do have cat 1 and 2 , 3PT hitch but I will use caution when pushing in reverse anyway.It looks as though the sway bar device would be the weakest link on the 3 pt hitch itself,and I have never used a wood winch.
Thanks again

/ Back Blade question #7