Any Electricians out there?

/ Any Electricians out there? #1  

2LaneCruzer

Super Star Member
Tractor
John Deere LX172
Went to use my table saw couple days ago, and no electricity on one side of my shop. Have two breakers and one main breaker; tripping the breaker didn't help. It's kind of strange, that only one half of the shop has no electricity...I'm no electrician, but it seems that maybe the breaker is bad? Can't imagine what would cause that; only thing that runs continually on that breaker is a clock and a telephone. Lightening cause something like this maybe?

/ Any Electricians out there? #2  
Do you have a meter you can put on the breaker to check it?

/ Any Electricians out there? #3  
Breakers can fail (not often). If it isn't the breaker itself, it might be a bad connection somewhere in the line (bad wire nut or if you used an outlet as the connection perhaps the outlet failed). Check the first outlet on the circuit and keep moving "downstream" until you find the one that doesn't work, then check that one and the one "upstream" from that one. Btw, I think best practice is to not use the outlet as the junction but rather use "pigtails" so in the event the outlet fails you don't lose power downstream. Few people bother because that outlet is so convenient. If you have a multi-meter it's easy to check.

/ Any Electricians out there? #4  
I would first check the connection at main breaker in the subpanel and the breaker in the main panel that feeds the sub.

Agree though that using a meter would speed things along.

/ Any Electricians out there? #5  
Did the breaker trip? If so you need to "click it' in the "off" position then turn it "on".
Is the first receptacle on the circuit that does not work a GFCI? Reset it.
If it is a GFCI and it will not reset then there is no power to it.

/ Any Electricians out there? #6  
Is the shop wired for 230 volts? did you lose one leg? Time to break out the meter, take 10 seconds to determine the problem.