Almost rolled the BX over today....

/ Almost rolled the BX over today.... #1  

Shmudda

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota BX24
I'm new to the compact tractor scene and have about 15 hours on my BX24. Spent the last (2) weekends digging out some Tree of Heaven stumps and moving some dirt around with the FEL.

Today I was moving some dirt away from the side of a stump excavation and somehow got sideways on a small hillside grade (25-30%) with a completely full bucket of dirt. At one point I actually felt the machine go up on two wheels and I quickly dropped the bucket to the ground (it was only up about a foot anyways) and it stabilized the tractor and brought it back onto all four tires. Needless to say I was a little surprised at how unstable the machine was on that slight grade. I have been around various equipment and machines all my life, from ATV's, small lawn tractors, track excavators, track hoes, but never a small compact tractor such as this.

I know one thing, I will never get sideways on a grade like that again with this tractor! Good lesson learned I can tell you that!

Anyone else ever experience this with a machine of this size before??? Regardless of size are all tractors this unstable???

Craig

/ Almost rolled the BX over today.... #2  
A 25 degree grade sideways is pretty steep with a bucket. You're pretty lucky.

I cut sideways on some pretty steep grades, but never with the attchments. Even with FEL low you still have a higher center of gravity. Just look at where the pivot point is. Also, if you haven't already done it, I would have the back tired filled. This will help some. And in really bad places if you have your BH on, I've reached it out as a counter balance. Probably not the smartest thing to do, but when you find yourself somewhere where you shouldn't be, all the leverage comes in handy. Usually I leave the BH of when I am in those places, it is safer due to the COG.