AfterMarket Accessories for Tractors

/ AfterMarket Accessories for Tractors #1  

rScotty

Tractor
Kubota M59, JD530, JD310SG. Restoring Yanmar YM165D
I've always wondered why there are so few aftermarket accessories for tractors. There seems to be a good selection of universal mount implements - especially the ones with standard 3pt or loader mountings. But there isn't much offered for the tractors themselves.

Here's where I start to wonder why...after all, aftermarket accessories are a proven money maker. And even more so when they are associated with a popular brand.

Like a lot of us, my background is in motorcycles, sports cars, SUVs, and boats. There's a huge amount of aftermarket stuff along with a lot of brand loyalty in those markets....particularly for boats. But it's surprisingly lacking for tractors. JD supports a little bit of the accessory market right at the dealer level - apparently it's profitable for them. But the rest of the tractor industry doesn't provide much in the way of accessories for owners of their brand of machine.

Equipment wise, there's not a tractor out there that couldn't use some more choices on exhaust pipe location and a decent sized tool box. Plus maybe a windshield, and surely more choices for tractor and seat covers. I know our Kubota M59 could use all those things right now....today.
It would be a better machine - and more popular - for having those four things, and none of it difficult to design or make.

There's just a host of similar "convenience & comfort pieces" that could be added on to every tractor. Not to mention a jacket, drinks mug, and a model of the same tractor for the kids. The manufacturers don't seem interested. When I wanted a spinner for the steering wheel the tractor dealer sent me to the truck stop down the road.

We've had a lot of tractors over the last 50 years and I've always wondered why the tractor industry was so unlike the other industries for accessories. Anyone else wonder why?