3-Point Hitch 2011 Branson 4520R: Lift function dead; PTO shifter frozen

/ 2011 Branson 4520R: Lift function dead; PTO shifter frozen #1  
Tractor
2011 Branson 4520R
Hello Branson people. I'm new to tractors and new here, and I have two 3-Point troubles:

1. The lift and lower lever doesn't have any effect. I do have the lowering valve open. The loader and backhoe (when attached) work normally, so I would think low fluid is not the problem (although I haven't topped it up yet).

2. I can't get the PTO to run, likely because the PTO lever is stuck in the middle position which looks like disengaged judging from the icon on the sticker. I have the dial switch set to Independent, and the PTO light comes on.

I've pasted a few photos below. i'd be most appreciative of any ideas.

DSC07705.jpg
DSC07709.jpg
DSC07702.jpg

/ 2011 Branson 4520R: Lift function dead; PTO shifter frozen #2  
Hello, Welcome to TBN.

When you remove the backhoe, you have to connect those two hoses (hanging in the second picture) together to complete the circuit, otherwise the pump is deadheading and pushing the fluid through the relief valve which will heat it very fast and cause issues. Once you get the hoses connected, the 3 pt should work fine.

As far as the PTO lever, probably the previous owner didn't use it much or at all, and the linkage if rusted together. You may need to go underneath and either spray some WD40 or something similar or take the linkage apart, clean and lubricate.

/ 2011 Branson 4520R: Lift function dead; PTO shifter frozen
ptsg, thank you!! I was wondering about that. So the backhoe is open-center.

[Do I need a new thread for this question?] If I got a hydraulic auger with a skid-steer mount for the loader, and I need another function to power the auger, should I use the backhoe supply?

/ 2011 Branson 4520R: Lift function dead; PTO shifter frozen #4  
Yes entire tractor hydraulic system is indeed open center.